Prairiewood High School logo

Prairiewood High School

Prairiewood High School

Per Ardua - Through Striving

Telephone02 9725 5444

Scholarships and awards

Our students can take advantage of several scholarship and award opportunities.

Two PHS Students win Minister's Award for Excellence in Student Achievement in 2021


These Awards celebrate the exceptional work that occurs every day across NSW public education – by schools, students, teachers, employees and parents. In 2021, the standard is as high as ever and perhaps even more impressive as this work has been undertaken against the backdrop of a pandemic. Due to COVID-19, for a second year running, the winners will be recognised locally in their school environments. That does nothing to diminish the quality of the winners we are celebrating.

Prairiewood High School had two students win the Minister's Award for Excellence in Student Achievement:

Nhi Lu and Mark Tran. Congratulations to Nhi and Mark for their outstanding achievements. (See details below)

We also won the Secretary's Award for Outstanding School Initiative for Reaching for the Stars - the Astronomy program at PHS.

The Astronomy and Space Science program is one of the High Performing and Gifted Education initiatives that extend student learning at Prairiewood High School. The school boasts an onsite observatory and two state-of-the-art telescopes that bring Science learning to life. These resources support the implementation of an exceptional and unique Stage 5 Astronomy curriculum elective that is built into school culture and organisation. Further extension opportunities exist for Year 7-12 students including: stargazing nights with students, staff and parent/ carers; participation in the PHS Astronomy Club, Astronomy camps and excursions to Questacon and Universities supporting Science education.

See the full list of winners.

Prairiewood High School took out the following awards at the Public Education Foundation Awards in 2020:

*Georgia Elphinston & Kristie Caplikas - 2 of 34 year 12 students to achieve the prestigious Minister's Award for Excellence in Student Achievement

*Ms Rodic & Ms Valatiadis - 2 of 23 colleagues (K-12 teachers) to achieve a Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. 

*Ms Smith - 1 of 20 colleagues to achieve the Secretary’s Award for Excellent Service

Due to the work Mrs Smith does with our students, seven students received scholarships for school or university:

- Jessica Vuoung & Belinda Hanna (Yr 11) received The Royal Bank of Canada High School Scholarship

- Ivy Tran (Yr 10), Veronica Chor, Michelle Ung (Yr 11), Jie Yang (Yr 11) received the The Agnes Borsody Scholarship

- Sarah Glaoo (Yr 12) received The Friends of Zainab Tertiary Scholarship

Ms Giudice is very proud of these students and teachers who continue to show that Prairiewood High School is an outstanding school. For more information about these awards and a video from the Minister please click the links below. Due to COVID-19 there was no formal ceremony in 2020.


Prairiewood High School took out the following awards at the Public Education Foundation Awards in 2019:

*Ngan Nguyen - 1 of 57 year 12 students to achieve the prestigious Minister's Award for Excellence in Student Achievement

*Alison Pool - 1 of 28 colleagues (K-12 teachers) to achieve a Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. This is just so fantastic and a testament to the 25+ years of dedication and commitment to PHS and PDHPE.

*Our CLOs: Bashar Hanna, Le Ngo & Tana Tuake - received 1 of 14 Outstanding School Initiative Awards. We highlighted PHS achievements through our extraordinary Community Inclusion programs. 

Our CLOs and their award

Ngan Nguyen with her award and Ms Giudice

Ms Pool and Ms Giudice with Ms Pool's award

Prairiewood High School's university and employer links have assisted students transition to further education after school in many ways. We secured  scholarships and grants worth $343,340.00 for our students in 2019.

The school received the 2020 Sir William Dobell Art Foundation award for Excellence in Teaching in a Visual Art faculty in a NSW secondary school.

The award recognises improvement in the visual arts, reflected in a school's performance in ARTEXPRESS exhibitions over the years.

Shantelle Morrison's work was one of 48 artworks selected for ARTEXPRESS 2020

Premier’s Spelling Bee

The Premier’s Spelling Bee is an annual competition that encourages primary school students in Years 3 to 6 to develop their spelling skills in a fun and educational way. Students are selected at school level to take part in regional finals. Regional winners then compete in the state final.

Premier’s Reading Challenge

This Premier’s Reading Challenge encourages students from Kindergarten to Year 9 to develop a love of reading and plays an important role in developing literacy.

Premier’s Debating Challenge

The Premier’s Debating Challenge is open to students from Year 5 to 12. Teams compete in a round robin series of debates against other schools. The winners go on to compete at regional and state level to determine the eventual state champion.

Public speaking competitions

The Arts Unit offers public speaking competitions for NSW school students. Each competition is a great opportunity for students to develop their speech-writing and presentation skills while representing their schools in a state-wide competition.

Premier’s Anzac Memorial Scholarships

The Premier’s Anzac Memorial Scholarships are an opportunity to visit significant overseas sites associated with Australia’s participation in war for Years 10 and 11 students in selected schools.

The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award - Australia

The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award - Australia provides an internationally recognised, self-development program for people aged 14 to 25. The program equips young people with the opportunity to undertake a variety of voluntary and challenging activities.